80.1 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Six Californias?

Sponsored by:

Sacramento, CA — Voters could be asked whether to divide California into six separate states.

Silicon Valley venture capitalist Tim Draper has submitted paperwork for a ballot measure to the Secretary of State’s Office and has been given the green light to collect the needed 807,000 signatures to place the Constitutional Amendment on the November ballot. At a conference call earlier this week, Draper claimed that it is not any type of publicity stunt, but a legit proposal.

The state’s would be named Jefferson (far northern section), North California (Sacramento, Marin and Sonoma County region), Silicon Valley (San Francisco Bay area down to Monterey), Central California (Mother Lode and much of the Central Valley), West California (Los Angeles and Santa Barbara area) and South California (San Diego and Orange County region). Each would be its own entity, with its own governors, legislators and laws. All tax collections and spending by the existing State of California would end, with the assets and liabilities divided among the new states.

It is noted that even if the proposal is eventually passed by California voters, it would also need to be approved by the U.S. Congress.