86.9 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Update: Last Minute RSVPs Re: Farm Bureau’s Candidates Night

Sponsored by:

Update at 12:40 p.m.: Tuolumne County Farm Bureau officials are sharing some last-minute changes to tonight’s line up for its candidates night at Sonora Opera Hall.

Bureau Executive Director Jamie Campodonico says that incumbent District 5 State Assembly Member Frank Bigelow has RSVPed that he will be attending. However, challenger Carla Neal, who had previously indicated she would be coming had to cancel.

Dave Titchenal, who is among three contenders running against incumbent District 2 Supervisor Randy Hanvelt, will now be there along with Hanvelt and one other challenger, Ryan Campbell.

Colette Such, who is seeking one of the two open seats on Sonora City Council is also now a “go” for tonight and will join Mayor Pro Tem Jim Garaventa and David Axelrod, one of two other contenders.

Again, doors open at 5:30 p.m. for this free and open to the public event. See below for the rest of the candidates appearing this evening. To view a status list of those running on the June ballot, click here and then click on the link for Candidate Filing Status.

Update May 2 at 3:25 p.m.: As of 3 p.m. today, the Tuolumne County Farm Bureau has confirmed that 17 candidates have committed to appear at its candidates night.

Bureau Executive Director Jamie Campodonico says her office extended an invitation to every candidate on the ballot affecting Tuolumne County voters from the governor’s race on down to all the local races. Below are the races and candidates being represented:

U.S. Congress 4th District of California – Mitchell White

State Senator District 8 — Tom Pratt, Paulina Miranda

State Assembly Member District 5 — Carla Neal

County Superintendent of Schools – Associate Superintendent Cathy Parker (running unopposed)

District Attorney – Laura Krieg, incumbent (running unopposed)

Sheriff – Undersheriff Bill Pooley (running unopposed)

Treasurer/Tax Collector – Michelle Ronning, Justin Birtwhistle

District 2 Supervisor – Incumbent Randy Hanvelt, Ryan Campbell

District 3 Supervisor – Laurie Sylwester, Anaiah Kirk, Aaron Rasmussen, Merv Cancio

Sonora City Council – Mayor Pro Tem Jim Garaventa, David Axelrod

Original Post at 2 p.m.: Sonora, CA — Tomorrow night at Sonora Opera Hall Mother Lode residents will have the opportunity to hear from numerous state and local office seekers appearing on the June ballot.

Well-known for its candidates nights Tuolumne County Farm Bureau is hosting Thursday’s free public event at the hall (250 S. Washington Street) for which the doors will open at 5:30 p.m. Over the course of the two-and-a-half hour event all will have the opportunity to address and take questions from the audience, according to Bureau Executive Director Jamie Campodonico. She has indicated that, so far, 15 of the invited candidates have confirmed their attendance.