Cell Phone Use May Be Restricted
Sacramento, CA — State senators are approving a bill that would require motorists to use handsfree devices if they want to talk on cell phones while they are driving.
Supporters claim cell phone calls are a distraction to drivers no matter what devices they use. But they admit allowing drivers to keep both hands on the wheel at least will help them react to potentially dangerous situations in a quicker fashion.
Opponents say holding the phone isn´t the problem; talking on it is.
The bill now goes to the Assembly. It would take effect in July 2008 with a $20 fine for a first violation and $50 dollars for repeat violations.
New York, New Jersey and Washington, D.C. all have similar laws but they carry much higher fines than those proposed by California.