64 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

First Candidate Deadline Passed

Sponsored by:

Sonora, CA — A crucial deadline for incumbent candidates has passed for the upcoming election.

All those who wanted to be on the local June 3 primary ballot had to have their paperwork filed by five p.m. today. Tuolumne County Clerk and Auditor-Controller Debi Bautista explains with today’s deadline passed, some incumbents have already won their races.

“The candidates for Judge, Superior Court #1, James Bosco, and Superior Court #2, Kate Powell-Segerstrom, are incumbents and the only candidates for those positions at this deadline. Because of that, they are not put on the ballot. They just automatically take their positions next January,” says Bautista. The Judges terms are for six years.

Below are the latest lists of candidates for both Tuolumne and Calaveras Counties who have qualified to be on the ballot and those that have pulled papers in anticipation of running for office. (Candidates with an asterisk by their name have qualified to be on the ballot. Those without an asterisk are candidates in races where there is an extension until next Wednesday, March 12, at 5 p.m. to file the paperwork.)

Sonora City Council (two seats open)
-Mark Ferreira
-James Garaventa
-James Grinnell
-Matt Hawkins *
-George Segarini

Tuolumne County Supervisor District Two
-Randy Hanvelt *
-Paul McNaul *

Tuolumne County Supervisor District Three
-Evan Royce *

District Attorney
-Laura Leslie Krieg

-James Mele *

Superintendent of Schools
-Marguerite Bulkin

Tax Collector
-Shelly Piech *

-Michael Dambacher *
-Cindy Deutch
-Kaenan Whitman

-Deborah Bautista *

Below is the latest list of candidates that have pulled papers in anticipation of running for office in Calaveras:

Superior Court, Dept. One
Grant V Barrett *
Dana L Pfeil *
Kenneth M Foley *

Superior Court, Dept. Two
Tim Healy *
John J. Trifilo *
Hugh K. Swift *

County Superintendent, Of Schools
Kathy A Northington *

Supervisor, 3rd District
Merita Callaway *
Michael C. Oliveira *
Mike Borean *

Supervisor, 5th District
Martha (marti) Crane *
Steven Kearney *
Darren E Spellman *
N. Roy Estakhri *

Leslie Davis *

Rebecca Callen *

Coroner-public, Administrator
Kevin J Raggio *

County Clerk-recorder
Rebecca Turner *

District Attorney
Barbara M. Yook *

Patrick Garrahan *
Gary G. Kuntz *

Treasurer-tax Collector
Barbara Sullivan *