77.5 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

More Candidates File For June Election

Sponsored by:

Several new candidates have begun the process of running for public office. Interested candidates could begin collecting signatures December 27th to be on the ballot this coming June.

The Tuolumne Election’s Office reports that candidates can begin collecting signatures in-lieu of filing fees. Candidates for county and city positions must have the paperwork returned by February 20. The deadline for the Judge positions is February 5.

The following Tuolumne candidates have pulled paperwork as of this morning:

Supervisor District Two
Randy Hanvelt
Paul McNaul

Supervisor District Three
Evan Royce

Deborah Bautista

Superintendent of Schools
Margie Bulkin

Jim Mele

Kaenan Whitman
Cindy Deutsch
Mike Dambacher

Treasurer-Tax Collector
Shelley Piech

Superior Court Judge (First Seat)
James Boscoe

Superior Court Judge (Second Seat)
Kate Powell Segerstrom

Sonora City Council seats do not need to take papers out until February 10.
No one has pulled papers for the District Attorney’s race. Candidates for T.U.D., School Board, and fire protection districts do not file paperwork until July. Candidates have to complete all paperwork to be on the June ballot.

The Calaveras Election’s Office reports that judicial candidates can begin their paperwork on January 27th through February 5th, all other candidates can collect signatures in-lieu of filing fees until February 20th.

Twenty-one candidates have pulled paperwork in Calaveras for the June 3rd election:

Superior Ct, Dept. One
Thomas P. Meyer
Grant V Barrett

Superior Court, Dept. Two
Tim Healy
John J. Trifilo
Hugh K. Swift

County Superintendent, Of Schools
Kathy A Northington

Supervisor, 3rd District
Merita Callaway
Michael C. Oliveira
Mike Borean

Supervisor, 5th District
Martha (marti) Crane
Steven Kearney
Darren E Spellman

Leslie Davis

Rebecca Callen

Coroner-public, Administrator
Kevin J Raggio

County Clerk-recorder
Rebecca Turner
Cathryne Darmer

District Attorney
Barbara M. Yook

Patrick Garrahan
Gary G. Kuntz

Treasurer-tax Collector
Barbara Sullivan

State and District Offices up for election include: Governor, Lieutenant Governor, Secretary of State, Controller, Treasurer, Attorney General, Insurance Commissioner and Board of Equalization Member District 1. The Congressional United States Representative District 4, Legislative State Senate District 8, State Assembly Member District 5, and the nonpartisan office Superintendent of Public Instruction are also up for election.