95.4 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Miss The Candidate Forums?

Did you catch where all of the candidates stand on the critical local issues facing the City of Sonora and Tuolumne County ahead of the upcoming March 5 primary election?

AM 1450 and FM 102.7 KVML recently aired a series of candidate forums featuring the three competitive Tuolumne County Board of Supervisor races and Sonora City Council.

They are now archived for playback at any time on and you can find the links by clicking here.

In the District Five supervisor race, which covers the communities of Jamestown and Columbia, the candidates are incumbent Jaron Brandon and businessman Arthur Schmidt.

In the District Four race, which includes Groveland and parts of East Sonora, the incumbent Kathleen Haff is not seeking re-election. The candidates running are researcher Kathryn Saari and retired CHP Officer Steve Griefer.

Incumbent David Goldemberg is also not running in the District One race, which covers Sonora. The candidates are Sonora City council members Matt Hawkins and Mark Plummer, businessman/school board member Mike Holland, and businesswoman Tanya Carsner.

The Sonora City Council race has four candidates for three open seats. The candidates are incumbent Ann Segerstrom and newcomers Darren Duez, Bess Levine, and Stephen Opie.

In the board of the supervisor races, if one candidate receives over 50 percent of the vote on March 5, they are declared a winner. However, if no candidate receives a majority, the top two vote-getters transfer to the November General Election.

Meanwhile, the Sonora City Council race will be decided on March 5, regardless of the percentages. The top three vote-getters will win the seats.