Mostly Clear
73.9 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

44 Legislative Members Seek To Overturn Proposition Eight Vote

Sponsored by:

Sacramento, CA — According to the Associated Press forty-four members of the California Legislature have filed a friend-of-the-court brief in support of one of the three lawsuits seeking to invalidate Proposition 8.

The brief argues that the gay marriage ban improperly usurped the state Supreme Court´s duty to protect minority groups from discrimination.

Proposition 8 overturned the court´s May decision that legalized same-sex marriage.

Only 16 of California´s 58 counties voted NO on Prop. 8 but many of those fell in the heavily populated coastal region. For example San Francisco and Marin counties both totaled a 75 percent NO vote.

Tuolumne County finished with a 62 percent YES vote while Calaveras County had a 63 percent YES vote.

The total vote count with all 25,423 state precincts reporting was 5,769, 939 YES and 5,266,794 NO.

Click THE 44 for a list of the 44 legislators who have filed the friend-of-the-court brief or review the list below …


Presient Pro Tempore Don Perata

President Pro Tempore-Elect Darrell Steinberg

Ron Calderon

Gilbert Cedillo

Ellen Corbett

Christine Kehoe

Sheila Kuehl

Alan S. Lowenthal

Carole Migden

Alex Padilla

Mark Ridley-Thomas

Gloria Romero

Patricia Wiggins


Speaker of the Assembly Karen Bass

Assembly Speaker Fabian Nunez

Jim Beal, Jr.

Patty Berg

Julia Brownley

Anna M. Caballero

Charles Calderon

Joe Coto

Kevin de Leon

Mark De Saulnier

Mike Eng

Norreen Evans

Mike Feuer

Felipe Fuentes

Lori Hancock

Mary Hayashi

Edward P. Hernandez

Jared Huffmnan

Dave Jones

Betty Karnette

Paul Krekorian

John Laird

Mark Leno

Lloyd E. Levine

Sally J.Lieber

Finoa Mia

Anthony J. Portantino

Lori Saldana

Jose Solorio

Sandre R. Swanson

Lois Wolk

Written by Bill Johnson