73 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Hospital Corporation Board Elects 2012 Officers

Sponsored by:

San Andreas, CA– The Mark Twain St. Joseph’s Hospital Corporation Board of Trustees has elected its 2012 officers.

Interim Hospital President Patti Monczewski says new officers include Chair, William Griffin, M.D., Vice Chair, Bob Campana, Secretary, Katherine A. Medeiros, and Treasurer, David Woodhams, D.D.S.

Campana believes the MTSJH Corporation Board has a strong new leader in Griffin.

“Dr. Griffin is a proven professional who will help the Board navigate challenges such as the unsteady waters of healthcare reform,” said Campana. “As he is the hospital’s chief of staff, I know Dr. Griffin is deeply devoted to offering excellent healthcare in Calaveras and our surrounding communities.”

Dr. Griffin recently replaced Lewis Steele as the CHW representative to the Board. Steele, a San Andreas resident and substance abuse counselor serving four counties, first experienced the hospital as a heart patient.

“After several stints and cardiac rehab three times a week, I was approached about serving on the board, and I was delighted,” recalled Steele. “The hospital saved my life and I wanted to give something back to the community.”

In acknowledging Steele’s service, Interim Hospital President Patti Monczewski said, “Nine years is a long time for any individual to be involved in an organization. We thank him for his commitment of service.”