77.9 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Chamber Will Honor Community Leaders

Sponsored by:

The Tuolumne County Chamber of Commerce has announced this year’s “Best of Tuolumne County” award winners.

They will be recognized at the annual installation and awards banquet on November 15th.

The Citizen of the Year is Julie VonSavoye who co-chairs the successful Meals on Wheels fundraiser at Railtown 1897. She is also involved in numerous activities, boards and committees throughout Tuolumne County.

The Excellence in Government award goes to Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools Joe Silva. The Entrepreneur of the Year is Mike Albrecht of Sierra Resource Management. There are two Teachers of the Year, Ida Ponder of Columbia College and Kevin Jedlicka of Jamestown Elementary School. The 2012 Students of the Year will be announced at the event.

The night will also include the installation of new chamber directors and officers for 2013. The new chairperson will be Margaret Davis, and the chair-elect will be Wendy Gast.