78.3 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Familiar Faces Eye Planning Commission Seats

Sponsored by:

Sonora, CA — As part of county restructuring, all seven of the Tuolumne County Planning Commission seats are up for appointment.

As reported previously, the Board of Supervisors decided to eliminate many of the various community Planning Commissions and Design Review Committees, but keep the main Planning Commission in-tact. As part of the change, the seven Tuolumne County Planning Commission seats will be up for appointment at Tuesday’s meeting.

Only six of the seats are currently filled, as Isaac Kight recently submitted his letter of resignation when he moved out of state. The six remaining members have submitted applications hoping to continue on the Commission. They include Jerry Baker, Jim Garaventa, John Latorre, Jerry Morrow, Robert Steele and Patrick Stone. Four other newcomers have submitted applications, including former County Supervisor Dick Pland, past Public Works Director Peter Rei, former T.U.D. Board member Ron Ringen, and past San Ramon Valley Regional Planning Commission member Robert Ingalls.

One commissioner is scheduled to be selected for each Supervisorial District, and there will be two at-large selections. Garaventa is in District One, Ringen in District Two, Morrow and Latorre in District Three, Baker, Ingalls and Rei in District Four, and Pland, Steele and Stone in District Five.

It is one of many items that will be up for debate at Tuesday’s Supervisors meeting that begins at 9am in the Supervisors meeting room. It will be streamed live in the multimedia section of