72.9 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Honoring Local Excellence Educators

Sponsored by:

Jamestown, CA – More than 15 local educators were recognized for their commitment and impact on students.

The Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools hosted the Annual Board of Trustees Dinner and Excellence in Teaching Awards at the Chicken Ranch Casino Bingo Hall Tuesday night. Educators from every school district in the county were given top honors for their dedication, enthusiasm, and commitment to teaching.

The “event is a testament to the hard work and dedication put forth by every educator we honor. It is a celebration of their unwavering commitment to excellence, relentless pursuit of knowledge, and profound belief in the transformative power of education,” stated Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools Zack Abernathy.

Recognized as role models, significantly influencing students and educational communities, the superintendent’s office provided this list of the 2024 Excellence in Teaching Award Winners:

  • Excellence in Teaching Award Winners:
  • Ashley Johnson – ATCAA-Head Start
  • Diane Noya – Belleview Elementary
  • Lynda Martinez – Big Oak Flat-Groveland
  • Lindsay Laney – Columbia College
  • Emily Reynolds – Columbia Elementary
  • Kaila Royce – Curtis Creek Elementary
  • Jeremiah Rivas – Gold Rush Charter
  • Summer Turner – Jamestown
  • Anna Conrad – Sierra Adult School
  • Corey Strand– Sonora Elementary
  • Pete Smith – Sonora High School
  • Jenny Meeks – Soulsbyville Elementary
  • Cali Bayers – Summerville Elementary
  • Andrea Banks – Summerville High School
  • Taylor Swaty – TCSOS
  • Kelly McGraw – Twain Harte Elementary

Elementary 2024 Career Achievement Award Winner:

  • Rachel Sooter, Belleview Elementary

The award ceremony celebrated these educators’ profound impact on society, inspiring a future filled with promise and knowledge.

  • Career Achievement Award winner Rachel Sooter gives her acceptance speech
  • Summerville High School Jazz band provided entertainment as the crowd arrived
  • Career Achievement Winner, Rachel Sooter and TCBOE Trustee Juliana Feriani
  • Tuolumne County Superintendent of Schools, Zack Abernathy, gives opening remarks to the attendees