Mostly Clear
62.4 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Taxpayer Group Grades Local Lawmakers

Sponsored by:

Sonora, CA — The influential Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association has put out a report card grading members of the California Senate and Assembly.

The conservative organization reports the scores for 2016 stem from 22 bills. Lawmakers were given positive scores for approving bills such as those that help clarify the parcel tax exemption process for seniors and create additional campaign finance transparency. Negative scores were given to lawmakers that support a car battery tax increase and numerous bills the group feels undercuts the ballot initiative process. Seven lawmakers, all Republicans, received a perfect 100% score. They include in the Assembly, Republican Leader Chad Mayes, and Shannon Grove, Jay Obernolte, Matt Harper and Don Wagner. Receiving 100% scores in the Senate are Jim Nielsen and Ted Gaines.

District Five Republican Assemblyman Frank Bigelow received an “A” grade with a 98.2% score and District 8 Senator Tom Berryhill received a “B” grade with 84.8%. Former Mother Lode representative Kristin Olsen received a “C” grade with a 71.3% score.

  • Money