Partly Cloudy
74.1 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

ITSA Film Festival 2014 Winners

Sponsored by:

Sonora, CA — Filmmakers were recognized over the weekend at the annual ITSA Film Festival. 2014 marked the 5th year of the event that was created by David and Christina Wilkinson. According to Wilkinson, just before the snow and the Holiday season, is perfect to play host to numerous people who can make an economic difference by scouting locations to film throughout Sonora. The ITSA Film Festival has the backing of the Tuolumne County Film Commission and several local sponsors.

Over 80 films were shown over the weekend at the ITSA Film Festival. The Festival showcases international films as well as work by students at the Connections Visual and Performing Arts Academy. Films were submitted in eight different categories; Dramas (20), Documentary (5), Comedy (7), Sci-Fi (7), Animation (6), Reel Scary (7), Music Videos (6), and Young Filmmakers (16).

The following awards were handed out on Sunday:

Outstanding Connections Academy Filmmaker 2014 – Reed Holland

Outstanding Young Filmmaker Award – Tara Azarian (15 Yrs Old)

Founders Award – Tribute By Neil Evans

Animation – Two Ghosts By Amy Ketchum

Comedy – The Residential Home By By Jakub Stolecki (Poland)

Sci-fi – Kresnik: Lore Of Fire By David Sipos (Slovenia)

Music Video – Am I Awake By Alex Italics

Horror – (student K-12) Gifts By Morgana Mckenzie and Category Winner, Matchbox By Dan Zampa

Documentary – Alegria By Christoph Von Toggenburg (Switzerland)

Outstanding K-12 Student Film – Existence By Patrick Y. Lee

Drama – Carry On By Yatao Li (China)

Honorable Mentions
Director’s On Directing By Damien Patrik
Cardboard By Tara-nicole Azarian
Root Of Evil By Ryan Huang
Plastic Glory By Ihab Mardini
Robocop Remake By David Codeglia
Becoming Lucy Produced By Alexis Nichols Directed By Jared Elkin
A Day With Death By Oluseyi Amuwa (Nigeria)
Room 19 By Kimberley Browning
Nobody’s Laughing By Dave Moutray
The Oven By James Gallagher
Garden’s Road By By Olga Osorio (music Video)

Outstanding Film – The Residential Home By By Jakub Stolecki (Poland)

The Judges Were Terry Vanbebber, Ari Costa And John Brickley.

  • 5th Annual ITSA Film Festival Logo