78.6 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Final Candidates Lists Set

Sponsored by:

Sonora, CA — The final deadline has passed for all candidates wanting to run in the upcoming election.
Candidates had to have all their paperwork in by 5 p.m. today to end up on the local June 3 primary ballot.

Tuolumne County Clerk and Auditor-Controller Debi Bautista says, “For the City Council, there were originally five different people who took out paperwork. One of those individuals, Jim Grinnell, decided not to complete the paperwork. Therefore, he is not a viable candidate and he will not be on the ballot.”

There are three contested races in Tuolumne County now that the final deadline has passed. “Those are races with more candidates than can be elected,” says Bautista. “You have a race for Supervisor District Two with two candidates. For the Assessor Recorder, there are three candidates. For City Council, there are four candidates and there is only going to be two of the candidates elected.”

As we reported earlier, the candidates for the two Tuolumne County Superior Court Judge positions, James Bosco and Kate Powell-Segerstrom, were incumbents and did not have anyone running against them, so they automatically retain those seats. There terms are for six years.

Below are the final lists of candidates for both Tuolumne and Calaveras Counties who have qualified to be on the primary ballot.

In Tuolumne County:

Sonora City Council (two seats open)
-Mark Ferreira
-James Garaventa
-Matt Hawkins
-George Segarini

Tuolumne County Supervisor District Two
-Randy Hanvelt
-Paul McNaul

Tuolumne County Supervisor District Three
-Evan Royce

District Attorney
-Laura Leslie Krieg

-James Mele

Superintendent of Schools
-Marguerite Bulkin

Tax Collector
-Shelly Piech

-Michael Dambacher
-Cindy Deutsch
-Kaenan Whitman

-Deborah Bautista

In Calaveras County:

Superior Court, Dept. One
-Grant V Barrett
-Dana L Pfeil
-Kenneth M Foley

Superior Court, Dept. Two
-Tim Healy
-John J. Trifilo
-Hugh K. Swift

County Superintendent, Of Schools
-Kathy A Northington

Supervisor, 3rd District
-Merita Callaway
-Michael C. Oliveira
-Mike Borean

Supervisor, 5th District
-Martha (marti) Crane
-Steven Kearney
-Darren E Spellman
-N. Roy Estakhri

-Leslie Davis

-Rebecca Callen

Coroner-public, Administrator
-Kevin J Raggio

County Clerk-recorder
-Rebecca Turner

District Attorney
-Barbara M. Yook

-Patrick Garrahan
-Gary G. Kuntz

Treasurer-tax Collector
Barbara Sullivan