64.2 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Changes and More Growth Ahead

The Tuolumne County Visitors Bureau (TCVB) recently elected it’s new board of directors and executive committee for the 2014-15 fiscal year which began July 1 and runs through June 30, 2015.

Officers for 2014-15 include the new president, Jeff Costello of Mt. Brow Winery, Vice President, Shirley Sarno of the Gunn House Hotel, Michael McCaffrey of McCaffrey House Bed and Breakfast Inn is the new secretary, and the reasurer is Peggy Mosley of the Groveland Hotel.

Our governing Board of Directors includes county and city officials, representatives of economic development organizations the general business community and of course, members of the local tourism community. Since tourism is the county’s largest private employer and the revenue generated by tourism affects other segments of the community, it’s important to have a board incorporating all of these aspects.

Based on the number of inquiries received via the web site, phone and email, and the visitor count at the Chinese Camp and Sonora Visitor Centers, tourism continues to grow for our area. Right now, the county anticipates growth for this coming fiscal year over the 2013-14 fiscal year. The quality of our tourism product continues to improve and increase in variety which reinforces a growing repeat visitor count as well as expanding the attraction for first time visitors.

Residents benefit as well since tourism makes it possible for our communities to have the variety of entertainment, dining and recreation options available considering the relatively small full-time population of the county.

Our new board and our new incoming Executive Director, Lisa Mayo are looking forward to a good year ahead and many thanks to Nanci Sikes, our retiring Executive Director for all she’s done to make this possible.