73.2 ° F
Full Weather
Sponsored By:

Brennan is Woman of the Year

Assembly Member Frank Bigelow, R-O’Neals, today honored Tuolumne County Supervisor Sherri Brennan as the 2015 Woman of the Year for the 5th Assembly District during a special Assembly ceremony at the State Capitol. Supervisor Brennan has been committed to rural communities across California for decades.

“Sherri is a champion for youth programs and has committed herself to expand opportunities for emerging young leaders in our rural communities,” Bigelow said. “A true advocate for rural California, Sherri Brennan exemplifies the leadership, humbleness and dedication to be our district’s 2015 Woman of the Year.”

Supervisor Brennan is tremendously involved in her local community and has participated in numerous local leadership capacities. In 2012 Brennan was elected to the Tuolumne County Board of Supervisors and previously served on the Tuolumne County School Board. Beyond her elected service, Brennan continues her commitment to local agricultural organizations through her involvement on the California Farm Bureau Public Lands Committee, the Tuolumne County Farm Bureau and the Tuolumne Calaveras Cattlewomen’s Association. Sherri Brennan embodies the ideals of the Woman of the Year ceremony from her tireless commitment toward the betterment of her community.

Assemblyman Bigelow selected Supervisor Brennan as Woman of the Year not only because of her dedicated service, but also because she inspires others in the community to follow her example by making a difference in the lives of others every day. Brennan’s selfless contributions to Tuolumne County and the entire 5th District are making the community a better place to live.

“I want to thank Assemblyman Bigelow for this honor,” Supervisor Brennan said. “I’m grateful to be able to serve such a great community and look forward to continuing work on rural economics and local job creation. I also remain committed to working with the state and federal governments to make sure we can restore the areas that were affected by the 2013 Rim Fire.”

Held annually, the Woman of the Year ceremony celebrates California’s extraordinary women. The first ceremony was held in 1987 to help commemorate Women’s History Month. The event has become an annual Capitol tradition to salute women who have done outstanding community service. Honorees are presented with a framed certificate from the State Assembly recognizing their outstanding contributions during a ceremony in the Assembly chambers.

Assembly Member Frank Bigelow, R-O’Neals, represents the 5th Assembly District in the California Legislature, which includes the Placer, El Dorado, Alpine, Amador, Calaveras, Tuolumne, Mariposa, Madera and Mono counties.