Sacramento, CA — Governor Schwarzenegger is trying again to get a dollar-an-hour boost to California´s minimum wage of $6.75 an hour.
The request comes in a petition to the Industrial Welfare Commission. The governor initially called for the hike in his January State of the State address.
But the Legislature didn´t act on the bill containing the proposal. The peition to the IWC is the next step.
The nearly 15 percent percent pay hike for California´s lowest-wage workers would come in two phases of 50-cent increases over a nine-month period.
The last increase in the state´s minimum wage was five years ago. The IWC now has four months to set the matter for consideration and either deny the petition or convene the wage board for a public hearing.